In front of a church on Moross in Detroit is a sign that says, “Worshipping the right God at the right place with the right people.” It reminds me of that song, “My dog’s bigger than your dog,” Only in this case, it’s “My God’s better than your God, my church is better—and I’m better.”

In other words, you suck. If you’re not a member of this church, you suck. And your God sucks, too. It’s the ultimate bigotry. I’m curious. Who are the right people who attend that church? And who are the wrong ones who do not?

If there is a God, she’s probably black, an old joke goes. Multicolored, anyway, like Joseph’s coat. Familiar but unknowable. She loves everyone. She’s not exclusive. She loves the sparrows and each hair on your head. She loves the Muslims, Jews, Christians, Buddhists and everyone.

I bet the Unitarians don’t have a sign like that outside their church. I’m not a Unitarian, but I like the idea of uniting people of all faiths, not excluding them. Any place is the right place, anyone is the right person. If they are human, they are loved. Or should be. The one vast God would love them all, without exception. If there were a God.

* * *
I guess the people who think that “their personal God” is the one and only right God are pretty rabid about it, so I hope I don’t offend you. My God loves you even if your God doesn’t love me. See , I can be holier than thou, too!

I tried to get on here to post this from my laptop because we were out and about tonight, but WordPress said that my username was wrong. Not my password, my username. It wasn’t, but I couldn’t.

* * *

I used to dream a lot about trains and trainyards, much more than any experience in my real waking life would suggest. The dreams were evocative and seemed important. But I could never make any sense of them, in spite of the repeating nature of the dreams and the similar scenes.

I haven’t had one of these dreams in a long time. Nor have I dreampt of flying lately. I used to love those flying dreams!

There’s a picture that goes with this post, and it uploaded fine, but now it won’t go into the editor. I’ve tried several times and I’ll have to give up for now. It shows the code where it is supposed to show the visual. I just tried again after logging off and back on, no dice. Maybe another time it will let me add it. Sigh!

Train from Escarpment

